Minutes of the League Meeting of the Members of Fairfield County Swimming League, Inc. Friday, August 6th, 2021 Woodway Country Club

The meeting was called to order at 7:35 PM by President Megan Kelly, who acted as chairman of the meeting pursuant to the Bylaws.

Secretary Dana Charette checked in all the members and determined the presence of a quorum. The following members were present virtually:

CLUB NAME	SWIM COACH	SWIM CHAIR
Aspetuck Valley	Jamie Gremp	Kristina Michaels
Bailiwick Club	Allison Brea	Laura Brill
Belle Haven Club	Evan Ciecimirski	Fernanda Leao
Black Rock Yacht Club		Amy Broderick
Burning Tree Country Club	Robert Trifone	Kathy Sandhu (P)
Country Club of Darien	Patrick Swift	Steve Martin
Country Club of New Canaan	Alex Pastushan	Kimberly Delgado
Field Club of Greenwich		
Greenwich Country Club	James Voyages	Cynthia DiPreta
Greenwich Water Club	Harry Schontz	Gillian Gieger
Innis Arden Golf Club	Steven Miller	Christine Lavin
Lake Club	Mark DeSimone	Kerri Mims
Middlesex Club	Marj Trifone	Tracy Balderach (P)
Milbrook Club		Hillary Cassidy (P)
New Canaan Field Club	Joe Somma (P)	
Newfield Swim Club	Dave Fine	Katie Cunningham
Patterson Club	Betsy Matheney	
Riverside Yacht Club	Brendan Heller	Christine Walker
Rocky Point Club	Terry Lowe	Kim Wise
Roton Point Club	Dennis Flores	Jamie Behr
Roxbury Swim Club	Igor Vulesevic / Camryne Morris	Janet McMahon / Monique Hitlin
Shore & Country Club	Dan Devine	Jeanne Peloso
Shorehaven Golf Club	Adam Fielding	Tiffany Mercer
Silver Spring Country Club	Joe Bonk	Kathleen Kazmierczak
Stamford Yacht Club	Kevin Devine	Carrie Sponheimer
Stanwich Club	Christian Wolfgruber	Catherine Holden
Tokeneke Club	Spencer Erickson	Heather Stramandinoli
Waveny Pool	Brian Maher	Ananth Pharshy
Wee Burn Country Club	Alison Lomanto	Jamie Hogan
Weston Field Club	Naki Mourtides	Amanda Mihelic
Woodway Country Club	Katherine Munson	Erica Juneja (P)

The secretary was advised of coaches and chairs present by proxy. If any, they are indicated by (P). The secretary noted that a quorum (60%) was present and referred to the agenda sent out via email.

Board Members Present:

Megan Kelly Co-President Greenwich Country Club Ally Pastushan VP Swimming New Canaan Field Club

Jim Lewis VP Water Polo Lake Club

Wayne Pollack
Joan Lynch
Dana Charette
Christian Wolfgruber

FCSL Advisor - Officials Oversight Comm Co-Chair
Treasurer
Bailiwick Club
Co-Secretary
Rocky Point Club
Swim Coaches Co-Rep
Stanwich Club

Joe SommaDiving Coaches RepNew Canaan FC & NewfieldPat GriffisRules Chair & WebmasterGreenwich Country ClubRick LewisComputer & Officials ChairWoodway Country Club

Heather Stramandinoli Championship Awards Tokeneke Club

Gillian Geiger D1 Co-Chair Greenwich Water Club Kim Fulton D3 Co-Chair Innis Arden Golf Club

Kristina Michaels D6 Chair Aspetuck

Deb Ehret SAA & Advisory Roxbury Swim and Tennis Club

Approval of League Minutes June 2020

The Minutes were presented by Dana Charette and a motion was made by Terry Lowe and seconded by Catherine Holden. The motion was approved.

President's Report

Megan Kelly welcomed everyone to the August Annual meeting and congratulated everyone on a successful season and a return to in person swim meets! Thank you to all chairs, volunteers, coaches and referees! The 2022 schedule is set with Counties slated for August 13th, 2022.

Pat Swift raised the notion that perhaps clubs would appreciate an earlier county date given various concerns including kids traveling in August, college age coaches not being able to stay the full season, etc.

Terry Lowe presented some ideas about ways to compromise. He proposed holding counties on their set date and doing diving the first week of August. Then over the course of the school year putting together a committee to research possible windows of dates from counties (i.e. Aug 3-11 or 4-12) rather than blanket holding them on the first or second weekend of the month. The first weekend could be too early, and the second weekend could prove too late. Over the year a committee can look at how snow days are handled and what end of year projections are over the upcoming years.

There were several voices that mentioned families need more time to go away in August and Fall high school sports are starting earlier and earlier. Coach Lowe proposed that a committee is formed that would comprise of Swim Chairs and Swim Coaches from each division and a proposal will be brought to the 2022 season to implement in 2023. This committee will be chaired by Terry Lowe and Pat Swift.

Swimmingly was discussed and it was reiterated that it is not mandatory but will be at the discretion of each club.

Megan Kelly presented the new slate for the 2022 FCSL year:

Co-Presidents: Megan Kelly & Dana Charette

Secretary: Julie Keller

Treasurer: Kim Fulton VP Swimming: Jamie Behr VP Diving: Tammy Penman VP Water Polo: Jim Lewis

Division 1 Chairs: Erica Ozanne & Candace Twiss Division 2 Chairs: Gillian Geiger & Heather Sahrbeck

Division 3 Chair: Liz Boutry Division 4 Chair: Gabrielle Miller

Division 5 Chairs: Kristina Michaels & Fernanda Rocha Division 6 Chairs: Laura Brill & Katheleen Kazmierczak Championship Volunteers: Catherine Holden & Kim Wise

Championship Apparel: Kyoko Sorenson

Championship Program: Renee Codd, Janet Gill-Gentry

Championship Awards: Heather Stramandinoli

Swim Coaches Reps: Marj Trafone, Christian Wolfgruber

Diving Coach Rep: Joe Somma

Water Polo Coaches Rep: Paul Ramaley

Rules Committee Chair & Webmaster: Pat Griffis

Officials Certification & Computer Operations Chair: Rick Lewis

Nominating Chair: Ally Pastushan

Governors-at-Large: Rick Lewis, Wayne Pollak, Skip Lehmann, Janet Gill-Gentry

Past-President & Swim Across America Liaison: Deb Ehret

Megan Kelly made the motion to approve the new slate. Heather Sahrbeck seconded the motion and the motion passed.

Treasurer's Report

Joan Lynch presented that not all expenses have been paid for the year and we have a few people earning over \$600 and will need 1099s. Dues will be reduced for 2022. Please submit any invoices from Divisionals.

VP Swimming/Coaches Reps

Ally Pastushan thanked all hosting clubs and thank you for trying Swimmingly. She also thanked Megan Kelly for two years of guidance during these Covid summers.

Awards

Skip Lehmann Team Spirit

D1-Greenwich Water Club

D2-Shore & Country Club

D3-Stamford Yacht Club

D4-GCC & Stanwich

D5-Weston

D6-Bailiwick

- Phillip R. Goode team most improved Black Rock Yacht Club
- Mark Newcome high point Meghan Lynch

- Hope Carter Humanitarian Award Beth Ritz
- Coaches Memorial Award Dave Fine

Division Plaque winners

D1 Rocky Point

D2 Shore & Country Club

D3 Innis Arden

D4 Lake Club

D5 Black Rock

D6 Aspetuck

County Champions- Rocky Point Club

VP Diving/Coaches Rep

Joe Somma reported that referees are still not easy to find and they are still looking to avoid scheduling conflicts.

- Clark Falkenstein Award Alden Charette
- John Hahnfeldt Award Matthew Magnotta

VP Water Polo

Jim Lewis reported that D3 Senior teams are still a struggle to find.

• Most Outstanding Player Award - Shane Neyer

VP Officials

Rick Lewis noted that counties will run as usual, and programs were available for sale tonight.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:59 PM.

Submitted by Dana Charette FCSL Co-Secretary